Mindstorms Jeep

Discussion specific to projects ideas and support.
dunning17

Mindstorms Jeep

Post by dunning17 »

I have been having trouble with the Mindstorms Jeep programming. I am a noob and know nothing at all abut this, but i think my issue is somewhere in the steering and forward front wheel drive. I have been programming with the default Mindstorms programming software.
The two outside motors (NXT) drive the two wheels (Ports B/C) and the center motor, A, does the steering. The ultrasonic sensor is used to avoid walls and objects in the program here:
The two outside motors (NXT) drive the two wheels (Ports B/C) and the center motor, A, does the steering. The ultrasonic sensor is used to avoid walls and objects in the program here:
photo.JPG (31.09 KiB) Viewed 5057 times
The two outside motors are attached to the wheels with gears and the steering rig.
This is the main program. Basespeed defines an aerage speed for the drive motors (NXT motors)
This is the main program. Basespeed defines an aerage speed for the drive motors (NXT motors)
photo.JPG (23.18 KiB) Viewed 5057 times
The central reset block resets the steering by turning 84Ëš right and then 84Ëš left.

The wheel control block acts as a sort of computer differential for the drive system, running one wheel faster than the other. I have chacked both programs for errors, and I am not sure what do do next.
Last edited by dunning17 on 18 Jun 2011, 16:01, edited 2 times in total.
dunning17

Re: Mindstorms Jeep

Post by dunning17 »

BTW this is from NXT 2.0
pbenco

Re: Mindstorms Jeep

Post by pbenco »

Dear dunning17
As a mind reader CIA employee, i can say you that:
1 - Your description of your project is by far not complete, some pictures, shematic or description of what it is suppose to do, what is the design of mechanics, what is the langage you use, etc.
2 - If you want some help on a programmatic issue, share your program, because,once again, i'm the only one here able to read in your mind!