Continue a loop after it's been broken?

Discussion specific to NXT-G, NXC, NBC, RobotC, Lejos, and more.
legostormrobot

Continue a loop after it's been broken?

Post by legostormrobot »

Ok, working on programming the robot I built... ( https://sourceforge.net/apps/phpbb/mind ... f=2&t=1521 ) And I've come across a problem. Basically, I need to have the loop break, preform an action (outside of the loop) and then, return directly to the point at which the loop left off. I can't figure out how to make it work.

Any ideas?

Is it even possible?
Noah Allen

"The computer was invented to solve problems that didn't exist before."
h-g-t

Re: Continue a loop after it's been broken?

Post by h-g-t »

I am not an expert but have never seen that done (with NXT-G anyway) and it risks all sorts of problems.

Why not put a second loop inside the first one, let it do whatever you want, then continue the first loop?
A sophistical rhetorician, inebriated with the exuberance of his own verbosity, and gifted with an egotistical imagination that can at all times command an interminable and inconsistent series of arguments to malign an opponent and to glorify himself.
legostormrobot

Post by legostormrobot »

Mmm.... I don't thing it would work. I need the loop to stop running when the ultrasonic sensor senses something within 10 cm. Then I need it to do the stuff outside the loop. Then I'd like it to continue running the loop at the point where it left off... so say it was three blocks through the loop when the ultrasonic sensor went off, it would start at the fourth block after it completed the outside task and continue running the loop.

Oh, and what would the "all sorts of problems" be?
Noah Allen

mcsummation

Post by mcsummation »

Put the stuff you want to execute inside/outside the loop into a MyBlock and execute it that way.
legostormrobot

Post by legostormrobot »

Interesting. Could you embellish more please?
Noah Allen

legostormrobot

Post by legostormrobot »