Sensors return values, types and more :D Newbie

Discussion specific to NXT-G, NXC, NBC, RobotC, Lejos, and more.
michal2195

Sensors return values, types and more :D Newbie

Post by michal2195 »

Hello :)
I'm still fairly new to NXC so please forgive the questions.

1) First of all I would like to know what type of values are returned by the sensors.
I know that the US sensor returns bytes in (0, 255) but can it return any other types?
What type of values does the color sensor return (in both color and light mode)?
Maybe someone could provide me with some links, pdf (I already checked the tutorial PDF and it is not very complex, guide PDF and API are, on the other hand, a bit complicated at this stage)?

2) I would like my robot to do precise turns (for example 45, 90, 120 degrees) on any kind of surface (this is important). I know that you can synchronise the motors in forward// backward movement and that there are many functions connected with motors with different input values. Can someone give me a tip/ hint on how to implement such turns? Is it even possible?

3) How do you guys handle multitasking? I've seen m-goldberg's tutorial, I know mutex more or less, I know how to use start/stop. As far as I know mutex allows only one task to be executed at a moment, then next in line can be done etc. What to you do when you have a following problem:
You have a program that has 5 tasks. Let's say it drives a robot around and does some stuff. If a certain action occurs (i.e touch sensor is pressed) you want only 3 tasks to work at the same time, then you want only 2 tasks to work and finally again all task should be working. Jumping across the tasks using start/stop does not seem to be te most effective solution.
The mulititasking concept is still a bit shady for me (when the program is more complex then, say 4 - 5 tasks), maybe you could give me some advice, provide some links?

Many thanks for any reply :)
Michal
HaWe