Need help rebuilding a "butchered" NXT brick!

Discussion specific to the intelligent brick, sensors, motors, and more.
jobu1234

Need help rebuilding a "butchered" NXT brick!

Post by jobu1234 »

First off, hello to everyone on this site! I'm new to the Mindstorms (and Technic) Lego kits, and I'm looking forward to a lot of fun exploring new projects and this site. :D
I found an NXT 1.0 set at a garage sale for a deal (basically free) because the NXT brick is damaged. The seller tried to "pimp" (his words!) the LCD by replacing it with a bigger one. Unfortunately, he stopped mid-pimp for some reason, just after completely removing the original lcd from the board driving it! :roll: Nothing is working on the brick as far as I can tell (because the speaker is also disconnected) but i hope the brick might be functional if I can reattach the LCD. Considering that most of the other pieces were still in their plastic bags when I opened the box, I don't think this NXT set has actually even been used!

From what I googled having to do with NXT LCD repairs, the lcd screen is normally connected by some kind of mylar ribbon with traces on it. In MY case, the ribbon is gone, the daughterboard has a bunch of thin gauge wire leads soldered where the ribbon connected, and the LCD is bare. Cleaning the LCD where the ribbon would connect, I saw what looked to be faint traces directly on the glass. You actually can't see them except at certain angles so they're pretty insubstantial. If I were to try to reconnect the LCD to the driver daughterboard, does anyone here know what I can use for a ribbon? I'm pretty good with soldering, but I don't think that skill's useful here with the glass. Maybe something more like a conductive epoxy?