I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
-
- Posts: 135
- Joined: 29 Apr 2011, 21:53
- Contact:
I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
Hi there,
I recently got the HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit, and I've got it set up withsix LEDs connected to the output pins (B0 - B5) on a breadboard. i was trying to turn them on in different ways using one of the example programs, but I can't get some of the combinations, like turning the first four on, for example. So I wrote down all possible combinations, and tried to get them. Turns out I can't get 24 of them.
The attached images (they might also show up below, if everything works) show all the combinations I could think of, with the I2C addresses next to them, if I could find them. My question is (surprise surprise) if it's possible to achieve those other outputs and how?
Thank you in advance,
I recently got the HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit, and I've got it set up withsix LEDs connected to the output pins (B0 - B5) on a breadboard. i was trying to turn them on in different ways using one of the example programs, but I can't get some of the combinations, like turning the first four on, for example. So I wrote down all possible combinations, and tried to get them. Turns out I can't get 24 of them.
The attached images (they might also show up below, if everything works) show all the combinations I could think of, with the I2C addresses next to them, if I could find them. My question is (surprise surprise) if it's possible to achieve those other outputs and how?
Thank you in advance,
- Leon Overweel (aka. dimastero/ dimasterooo)
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
Did you report this to HiTechnic? What programming environment are you using? If it's not NXT-G, can you reproduce it with NXT-G?
- Xander
- Xander
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots (http://botbench.com)
| RobotC 3rd Party Driver Suite: (http://rdpartyrobotcdr.sourceforge.net)
| Some people, when confronted with a problem, think, "I know, I'll use threads,"
| and then two they hav erpoblesms. (@nedbat)
| RobotC 3rd Party Driver Suite: (http://rdpartyrobotcdr.sourceforge.net)
| Some people, when confronted with a problem, think, "I know, I'll use threads,"
| and then two they hav erpoblesms. (@nedbat)
-
- Posts: 135
- Joined: 29 Apr 2011, 21:53
- Contact:
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
Thank you for the quick reply! I was using RobotC for this (hitechnic experimenter's kit experiment two - i removed the last if elses and wrote the address just before the "write" command) and I don't have NXT-G on my computer. One more thing I forgot to mention is that the whole thing starts repeating once I hit 40 -- so 0x40 = 0x00, 0x41 = 0x01 -- and give the exact same results. Should I send HiTechnic an email?
thanks,
thanks,
- Leon Overweel (aka. dimastero/ dimasterooo)
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 19:34
- Location: Denmark
- Contact:
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
Unless I am missing something obvious, the 'missing' values are 0x0A, 0x0B, 0x0C, ..., 0x0F and so on.dimasterooo wrote:Hi there,
I recently got the HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit, and I've got it set up withsix LEDs connected to the output pins (B0 - B5) on a breadboard. i was trying to turn them on in different ways using one of the example programs, but I can't get some of the combinations, like turning the first four on, for example. So I wrote down all possible combinations, and tried to get them. Turns out I can't get 24 of them.
The attached images (they might also show up below, if everything works) show all the combinations I could think of, with the I2C addresses next to them, if I could find them. My question is (surprise surprise) if it's possible to achieve those other outputs and how?
Thank you in advance,
-
- Posts: 135
- Joined: 29 Apr 2011, 21:53
- Contact:
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
yep, that was the problem. Thank you! Address 0x00A, B, C, D, E, F got the first six, 0x01A, ..., F, got the second, 0x02A, ..., F got the third and 0x03A, ..., F got the last; they were even in order! I've got images of the new list attached below (can't paste the whole thing here because it's too long :/). If it's helpful for anyone, I can post a link to the full image.
thank you guys,
thank you guys,
- Leon Overweel (aka. dimastero/ dimasterooo)
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
-
- Posts: 1818
- Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 02:19
- Location: Michigan USA
- Contact:
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
Indeed, that is what it looks like.bullestock wrote:Unless I am missing something obvious, the 'missing' values are 0x0A, 0x0B, 0x0C, ..., 0x0F and so on.
@dimasterooo: 0x prefix means the number is a hexadecimal number. The possible values for each place are 0-F (instead of 0-9 for decimal). Your chart only uses 0-9, and no doubt that is your problem.
Matt
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/
I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/
I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting
-
- Posts: 135
- Joined: 29 Apr 2011, 21:53
- Contact:
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
yeah that was the problem, I added them in the sheet above. Thank you anyways
- Leon Overweel (aka. dimastero/ dimasterooo)
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
My blog: http://www.leonoverweel.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LayOn_OverWhale
-
- Posts: 1818
- Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 02:19
- Location: Michigan USA
- Contact:
Re: I2C Output with HiTechnic Experimenter's Kit
looks like I was a bit latedimasterooo wrote:yeah that was the problem, I added them in the sheet above. Thank you anyways
Anyhow, you normally use exactly two digits to show a Hex number. For example, the interface can accept a range from 0x00 through 0x3f (not said 0x0 through 0x03f).
Hex is a number system, and number systems values don't magically change values.dimasterooo wrote:...they were even in order!...
Matt
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/
I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/
I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests