Question on utility of LEGO robots as a communication tool.

Discussion specific to projects ideas and support.
marauderw

Question on utility of LEGO robots as a communication tool.

Post by marauderw »

Good afternoon everyone, I am a student who is currently researching how a LEGO robot can help children who suffer from Autistic Spectrum Disorders to communicate with other people.

I was wondering while I was reading research articles on numerous (and much more complex) robots that appeared before to help these children, if any of you experienced gentlemen or ladies think that a LEGO robot could indeed help children to communicate better whilst sharing a LEGO robot.

More specifically I am building several types of robots which can move their arms, legs and head (very basic stuff) in order to get the children interested in the robot and with some luck break the social barrier that restricted them from interacting with other people.

Not heavily scientific stuff, I thought that most robots out on the market today are quite costly and not many facilities buy them (for the children) so I said that maybe I can build a LEGO robot which is cheaper (relative term), easier to build and manage and infinitely more configurable than the ones that are out on the market today.

I haven't taken the robot yet to see experienced personnel (doctors and psychologists) and, while I do intend to do so in the following days, I just wanted to know your honest opinions regarding this subject.

Do you believe LEGO robots can have a beneficial effect in a medically related environment?
tabbycatrobots

Re: Question on utility of LEGO robots as a communication tool.

Post by tabbycatrobots »

Not an exact answer to your questions, but some ideas that may help. I'm retired and am a reading volunteer in
2nd and 3rd grades. I did read with one child on the Autistic Spectrum.
I also build LEGO robots, as a hobby, and take my NXT robots into elementary grade classrooms.