Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Discussion specific to NXT-G, NXC, NBC, RobotC, Lejos, and more.
Post Reply
wakoboyboy
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 02:56

Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by wakoboyboy » 29 Sep 2010, 03:01

Hi,
I'm currently working on a robot that uses the Lego webcam that came with Vision Command and the Lego Studios set. For some reason, when I plug it into my laptop that's running Windows 7 Pro, the computer can't install all of the required components, even when I let it connect to Windows Update. Is there a source that I can download the correct drivers from? It used to work fine on my old XP, but this one is missing something.
Thanks.

mightor
Site Admin
Posts: 1079
Joined: 25 Sep 2010, 15:02
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by mightor » 29 Sep 2010, 04:56

wakoboyboy,

Do Vista drivers exist for this camera? If so, you can probably use those.

- Xander
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots (http://botbench.com)
| RobotC 3rd Party Driver Suite: (http://rdpartyrobotcdr.sourceforge.net)
| Some people, when confronted with a problem, think, "I know, I'll use threads,"
| and then two they hav erpoblesms. (@nedbat)

physics-matt
Posts: 76
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 06:57

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by physics-matt » 29 Sep 2010, 07:51

A long shot, but apparently the Vision Command camera is just a re-packaged Logitech Quickcam, so you may be able to get it working with windows 7 drivers from Logitech.

Matt

pbenco
Posts: 71
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 09:43
Contact:

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by pbenco » 29 Sep 2010, 10:15

Hello
As you are under Win7 pro, try to install the drivers in the Win xp compatibility mode, and the LEGO software too, it should work.
Regards
pbenco
pbenco.wordpress.com/

claudelacombe
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Sep 2010, 00:03

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by claudelacombe » 30 Sep 2010, 00:06

Logitech has no support for old webcam (Vision Command is a logitech webcam) but it works perfectly using the XP Mode under Windows 7.

linmix
Posts: 19
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 09:17

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by linmix » 30 Sep 2010, 07:53

Thanks for the info. I ran into the same driver issue for 7 but hadn't realzed the XP mode could do the trick.

wakoboyboy
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 02:56

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by wakoboyboy » 23 Oct 2010, 02:59

Wow, thanks for all of the input. But I'm not trying to run the camera under any LEGO programs, but with recording software and Skype, so I can log where my robot goes and show it off, so XP mode doesn't work. I've tried multiple downloads from Logitech and other places online, but they all say that my camera is out of date. Any tips?

alpharhinonxt
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Oct 2010, 01:50
Contact:

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by alpharhinonxt » 23 Oct 2010, 03:07

XP mode should work on your computer.
Around the time the vision command stuff no one even knew what Windows 7 was.
Plus this was built for RCX so LEGO probably wouldn't update it.
I reject your reality and substitute my own. -Adam Savage

wakoboyboy
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 02:56

Re: Vision Command Camera With Windows 7

Post by wakoboyboy » 23 Oct 2010, 03:22

alpharhinonxt wrote:XP mode should work on your computer.
Around the time the vision command stuff no one even knew what Windows 7 was.
Plus this was built for RCX so LEGO probably wouldn't update it.
I'll clarify now that I realize that my last post was a little vague:
I've tried XP mode with the programs I'm using, but they still won't register the camera.
Whenever I plug the camera in, the Plug and Play function kicks in and installs something with Logitech in the name and a "Camera", but shows as failing to install a second "Camera". So the problem is defiantly in the drivers.
If installing the Vision Command software fixes this issue, I'll need to hunt down a copy, as mine came with the Steven Spielberg Movie Making set, and that software's installer won't even work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests